Safety and Pilot Standards for Private Jet Charter
For West Palm Jets Charter, our passengers’ safety is our highest priority. To this end, we have strict standards for safety that all aircraft and pilots we work with must meet. But what are the general guidelines for safety and pilot standards and how can passengers find out what they are?

Pilot Qualification Requirements

West Palm Jets Charter requires that any operators we work with adhere to the standards set by Wyvern, Argus, or ISBAO. This means that when passengers charter a private jet through West Palm Jets Charter, they can rest assured that they’re flying with the best-rated pilots and operators in the industry. But what does this mean for operator requirements?

At West Palm Jets we have adopted these qualifications as our minimum standard:

  • 3000 hours of total flight time.
  • 1500 hours of total PIC time.
  • 250 hours of PIC time in type.
  • ATP rating.
  • Type Rating in aircraft.
  • Current class 1 medical.
  • Current and valid IPC, line check, rout check.

The Wyvern Rating System

The Wyvern rating system has two different classification levels: Registered Operator and Wingman. The Registered Operator rating is available to any operator that is willing to provide Wyvern with their records. Although these records aren’t audited by Wyvern, they’re available for passengers to review.

The Wyvern Wingman rating is the standard to look for. It’s much more difficult to obtain and only pilots that meet Wyvern’s audit requirements are awarded this rating. Any operator who wants to qualify for Wingman must meet and maintain strict standards that meet the highest level of safety practices.

The Argus Rating System

Argus has three different levels in its rating system: Gold, Gold Plus, and Platinum. The Gold Rating is the lowest level and looks at a pilot’s certification for commercial flight as well as past information. The Gold Plus Rating is awarded to operators who are already Gold rated and who are either complete an Argus safety audit on-site or maintain registration with IS-BAO.

The Platinum Rating is the highest rating Argus offers. In order to qualify, operators must first meet the requirements for the Gold and Gold Plus Ratings. Platinum operators are considered to have an excellent emergency response plan and a safety management system in place. They also must submit to and pass Argus’ Platinum safety audit and inspection.

The IS-BAO Rating System

IS-BAO is the International Standard for Business Aviation Operations provided by the International Business Aviation Council. These standards are accepted internationally. To receive an IS-BAO Certificate of Registration, operators must meet international best practices, pass a third-party audit, and perform their own internal audits. IS-BAO’s Certificate of Registration is actually a requirement for Argus’ Gold Plus and Platinum Ratings.

Can Passengers Request Credentials?

As part of our dedication to safety, passengers can request to see credentials for pilots and operators before they fly. West Palm Jets Charter can also perform a Pass or Check safety report on both pilots and on aircraft upon passenger request. It’s important for our passengers to be safe, but it’s also important for them to know they’re safe. We’re dedicated to meeting every passenger’s requirements for safety and if a passenger desires an Argus Platinum Rating for their crew, West Palm Jets Charter will ensure that it happens.


24/7 Jet Charter Service


Disclaimer: All Aircraft And Air Carriers Selected By West Palm Jets are fully Certified by The Federal Aviation Administration and The U.S. Department of Transportation under part 135 regulations. Carriers are Solely Responsible for The Air Transportation Arranged on Behalf Of West Palm Jets’ Clients. West Palm Jets Does not OWN or Operate Any Aircraft. West Palm Jets is not a direct or indirect Air carrier. All flights chartered through West Palm Jets are Operated by Part 135 Air Carriers.

Share This